



PRESS RELEASE ST 16213/14 PRESSE 612 Brussels, 28 November 2014

EU strengthens sanctions against separatists in Eastern Ukraine

The Council has reinforced EU restrictive measures against separatists operating in Eastern Ukraine, as requested by the Foreign Affairs Council of 17 November. 13 persons and five entities involved in action against Ukraine's territorial integrity will be subject to an asset freeze and an EU travel ban.

This decision brings the total of persons subject to EU sanctions over Ukraine's territorial integrity to 132 and the number of entities under EU asset freeze to 28.

The legal acts, which include details about those targeted by the measures, have been adopted by written procedure. They will enter into force upon publication in the EU Official Journal on 29 November.

More information:

Council conclusions on Ukraine, 17 November 2014
Factsheet on EU-Ukraine relations
Factsheet EU restrictive measures