Dr Triantaphyllos Karatrantos is to sit on the Advisory Board of Researchers charged with researching and developing the policy for preventing radicalization and countering violent extremism. The Board was set up by the European Radicalisation Awareness Network of the European Commission.

The 12 members of the Advisory Board come from across Europe and include Donatella della Porta, Peter Neumann, Rik Coolsaet and Beatrice de Graaf.

After many years in which the burden fell on front-line professionals, the EU it turning to the people who take decisions and design policies relating to issues of radicalization and violent extremism in an effort to bring together the research, data and evaluations, on the one hand, and the policies, strategies, and decision-making on the other.