| Hellenic Foundation for European & Foreign Policy
 

Provision of independent expertise to the European Parliament in the field of audiovisual policy

The purpose of this project lis to provide independent expert advice on a number of issues coming within the audiovisual policy mandate of the European Parliament (EP)’s Committee on Culture and Education (CULT). It is coordinated by the Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy and draws on the expertise of an interdisciplinary team of academics and researchers who specialise in audiovisual policy.

Expertise is offered for the following topics:

  • The implementation of the Audiovisual Media Services Directive;
  • The Media 2007 Programme;
  • The situation of audiovisual industries;
  • The protection of cultural diversity in the audiovisual sector, including in digital (online) media and the role of the UNESCO Convention on the protection of cultural expressions;
  • Cooperation with non-EU countries, including under the Media Mundus programme;
  • The protection of minors and human dignity;
  • The fight against piracy and the protection of authors’ and artists’ rights in the digital environment;
  • Safeguarding the EU’s audiovisual heritage;
  • Media literacy;
  • The links between EU policies towards the single market, the ‘information society’ and audiovisual policy;
  • The links between community competition policy and audiovisual policy (including state aid to cinema and public service broadcasters);
  • The links between EU trade negotiations (including in the World Trade Organisation) and audiovisual policy;
  • Media pluralism;
  • The contribution of all EU programmes to the above areas;
  • EU cooperation with non-EU countries in the above-named areas and with international organisations such as UNESCO and the Council of Europe.

Expertise was offered in the following forms:

  • small briefing notes;
  • medium-sized briefing notes;
  • detailed briefing notes;
  • analytical studies;
  • research studies;
  • Other ad hoc services.

Duration: September 2010- August 2015

Funded by the European Parliament, Directorate-General for Internal Policies, Directorate B, Structural and Cohesion Policies

Scientific coordinator:  Dr Evangelia Psychogiopoulou, Lawyer and Research Fellow, Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy, Greece

E-mail: epsychogiopoulou@eliamep.gr

 

The project team

 

Scientific coordinatorDr Evangelia Psychogiopoulou, Lawyer and Research Fellow, Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy, Greece

E-mail: epsychogiopoulou@eliamep.gr

Experts

 

Christine Altemark, Research assistant, Institute for Information, Telecommunication and Media Law (ITM), University of Münster, Germany

E-mail: ch.altemark@uni-muenster.de

Federica Casarosa, Jean Monnet fellow, Robert Schuman Center for Advanced Studies, Italy

E-mail: federica.casarosa@eui.eu

Violaine Dehin, Registered lawyer with the Brussels bar, Belgium

E-mail: viodehin@yahoo.fr

Susana de la Sierra, Professor, University of Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

E-mail: susana.sierra@uclm.es

 

Sophie De Vinck, Researcher, Interdisciplinary Institute for Broadband Technology, Studies on Media, Information and Telecommunication (IBBT-SMIT), Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

E-mail: sdevinck@vub.ac. be

Pierre-François Docquir, Post-doctoral researcher, Perelman Centre for Legal Philosophy, Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium

E-mail: pierre-francois.docquir@ulb.ac.be

Karen Donders, Researcher, Interdisciplinary Institute for Broadband Technology, Studies on Media, Information and Telecommunication (IBBT-SMIT), Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

E-mail: karen.donders@vub.ac.be

 

Mihály Gálik, Professor, Department of Media, Marketing Communications and Tele-communications, Hungary

E-mail: galik@uni-corvinus.hu

Lesley Hitchens, Professor, Faculty of Law, University of Technology, Australia

E-mail: lesley.hitchens@uts.edu.au

Thomas Hoeren, Director, Institute for Information, Telecommunication and Media Law, University of Münster, Germany

E-mail: hoeren@uni-muenster.de

Petros Iosifidis, City University London, UK

E-mail: p.iosifidis@city.ac.uk

Harri Kalimo, Faculty of Law and Faculty of Economic, Political and Social Sciences, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

E-mail: harri.kalimo@vub.ac.be

Robin Kerremans, Researcher, Interdisciplinary Centre for Law & Information Communication Technology (ICRI), Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

E-mail: robin.kerremans@law.kuleuven.be

Beata Klimkiewicz, Assistant Professor, Institute of Journalism and Social Communication, Jagiellonian University, Poland

E-mail: beatakl@hotmail.com

Maria Kontochristou, Lecturer, Hellenic Open University, Greece

E-mail: mariakontochristou@gmail.com

Eva Lievens, Researcher, Interdisciplinary Centre for Law & Information Communication Technology (ICRI), Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium

E-mail: eva.lievens@law.kuleuven.be

Jan Loisen, Researcher, Interdisciplinary Institute for Broadband Technology, Studies on Media, Information and Telecommunication (IBBT-SMIT), Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

E-mail: jan.loisen@vub.ac.be

Caroline Pauwels, Professor, Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

E-mail: caroline.pauwels@vub.ac.be

Zrinjka Peruško, Associate Professor, Department of Journalism, University of Zagreb, Croatia

E-mail: zrinjka.perusko@fpzg.hr

Robert Picard, Professor, Jönköping International Business School, Jönköping University. Sweden

E-mail: robert.picard@jibs.hj.se

George Pleios, Associate Professor, Department of Communication and Mass Media, University of Athens, Greece

E-mail: gplios@media.uoa.gr

Jaka Primorac, Research fellow at the Department for Culture and Communication of the Institute for International Relations (IMO), Croatia

E-mail: jaka@irmo.hr

Evangelia Psychogiopoulou, Lawyer and Research Fellow, Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy, Greece

E-mail: epsychogiopoulou@eliamep.gr

Tim Raats, Junior researcher, Interdisciplinary Institute for Broadband Technology, Studies on Media, Information and Telecommunication (IBBT-SMIT), Vrije Universiteit Brussel, Belgium

E-mail: tim.raats@vub.ac.be

Katharine Sarikakis, Senior lecturer, Institute of Communications Studies, University of Leeds, UK

E-mail: k.sarikakis@leeds.ac.uk

Eugenia Siapera, Lecturer, Aristotle University, Greece

E-mail: esiapera@jour.auth.gr

Andrej Školkay, Director, School of Communication and Media, Slovakia

E-mail: askolkay@hotmail.com

 

Gavin Sutter, Lecturer, School of Law, Queen Mary, University of London, UK

E-mail: g.sutter@qmul.ac.uk

Nada Švob-Đokić, Professor, Culture and Communications Department, Institute for International Relations (IMO), Croatia

E-mail: nada@irmo.hr

Aleksandra Uzelac, Head of the Culture and Communications Department, Institute for International Relations (IMO), Croatia

E-mail: auzelac@irmo.hr

Peggy Valcke, Director, Interdisciplinary Centre for Law & Information Communication Technology (ICRI), K.U. Leuven, Belgium

E-mail: peggy.valcke@law.kuleuven.be

Ben Van Rompuy, Researcher, Institute for European Studies (IES), Belgium

E-mail: ben.van.rompuy@vub.ac.be

Lorna Woods, Professor, City Law School, City University London, UK

E-mail: lorna.woods.1@city.ac.uk

Project assistant: Ms Anna Kandyla, Research Assistant, Hellenic Foundation for European and Foreign Policy

E-mail: akandyla@eliamep.gr

More details on the team of experts can be found here.


 
 
 
Social Media
ELIAMEP Newsletter

Type your eMail bellow

 

  ELIAMEP Newsflash
Contact Us

Phone: (+30) 2107257110
Email: eliamep@eliamep.gr
Vassilisis Sofias 49, Athens, 10676
Contact Form & Μap »